first church on this site was built in the 12th Century.
The oldest part standing today is the section adjoining the
tower which dates from the 15th Century. Inside the church
each local craft guild maintained an altar to its Patron
Saint. Some wealthy burgesses built their own private chapels
but only the chapel built for St. Andrew remains.
Queen of Scots, worshipped in the Holy Rude and John Knox
preached there, and James VI was crowned there. There are
many interesting features to discover in the building and
indicating its checkered history. In 1656, following a dispute,
the congregation divided the church into two, each with its
own minister. The dividing wall was only removed in 1936.
the graveyard, the graves of merchants and traders are carved
with signs and symbols of their craft or trade.